Author Archives: Deborah S. D'Cruze

Ermahgerd, Vermpeyers

When trying to destroy Dracula, the means in which to do so are different than with the female vampires. Van Helsing says that there is a thorough process in which to destroy Lucy, but for Dracula it is just driving a stake through his heart. While Lucy is destroyed with just a stake in the […]

The Bloofer Lady

Touching upon what we discussed today regarding the fallen woman and Lucy – I wanted to expand my thoughts regarding her as a vampire and her second death. The fact that she, as a vampire, is feeding on children is significant, because it is Stoker showing that women who are lustful, wanton, or voluptuous are unable to […]

The Mystery of Missing History

Something’s gone missing in London. As we go through the museums and walks, I couldn’t figure out what. All were very informative. I’ve learned about the embankment of the Thames, the lives of Kings and Queens long past, the shadowy underworld of Victorian London…but still. There was something missing. Couldn’t place my finger on it. […]

Fancy a Literary Tryst? The Sordid Tale of Yellow Back Books

Yellow back (also known as “yellow books”) books are of particular interest to me, mainly because my thesis research requires reading several of them. Yellow back books get their name for obvious reasons – their covers were yellow-colored because they were cheaply made during the nineteenth century. Meant as rivals to the penny-dreadful, they were […]

“Oh son, for that you sold your everlasting soul?” “Well, I wasn’t usin’ it.”

Oscar Wilde, being a theatrical writer seems to draw upon other plays when writing his only novel, The Picture of Dorian Gray. Within reading the first couple of chapters, it is clear that Wilde is writing a tragedy in the vein of Christopher Marlowe’s Doctor Faustus. Like Faustus, Dorian comes from the upper class or of […]

“to the last I grapple with thee; from hell’s heart I stab at thee; for hate’s sake I spit my last breath at thee…”

Allusions! Allusions abound! Reading through “The Final Problem” it is easy to see the literary influence on Doyle. “The Final Problem,” published in 1893, came 40+ years after Herman Melville’s Moby Dick. We can see the connection from Holmes to Captain Ahab and Professor Moriarty to the White Whale. Both men (Holmes and Ahab) are caught […]

“I have a cunning plan…” or the Art of Confession

First off, it’s only proper to start off my entry for Sherlock Holmes by leaving this right here… Now. We’re ready to begin. The art of confession – something that I’ve always enjoyed in my television shows. When watching Law & Order: SVU  or Law & Order: Criminal Intent, one of the most satisfying moments of the show is when they […]